Military Hall of Fame to induct 10 veterans

Three Medal of Honor winners will be among 10 veterans inducted into the Oklahoma Military Hall of Fame during a dinner Friday in Oklahoma City.

A reception, followed by the dinner, will be held at 6 p.m. at Oklahoma Christian University, 2500 E. Memorial Road.

The Medal of Honor inductees are Army Staff Sgt. Ruben Rivers of Hotulka, a veteran of World War II; Army Pfc. Manuel Perez of Oklahoma City, a World War II veteran; and Army Lt. Gen. George Price Hays of El Reno, a veteran of both world wars.

Hays received his medal for heroism during World War I.

The Medal of Honor, issued by Congress, is the nation’s highest award for valor.

Among the 10 Military Hall of Fame inductees are three who are still living.

They are: Army Maj. Gen. Toney Stricklin of Lawton, a veteran of the Vietnam War; Oklahoma Army National Guard Chief Warrant Officer Bill Sterns of Guthrie, a veteran of the Korean War; and Army Cpl. Harry Hoots of Lincoln County, a World War II veteran.

The other inductees are: Oklahoma Army National Guard Brig. Gen. Otwa T. Autry of Claremore and Enid, a veteran of World War II and Korea; Rear Adm. Lewis Elliott.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply