college instructor - resources for student

Discussion in 'General Medical' started by katy531, Mar 30, 2007.

1. katy531

katy531 New Member

Hello, I am a newbie to this forum, and not a veteran. I am a college instructor, and one of my students is a veteran. He recently told me about some mental health difficulties that began after his duties in Afghanistan, and I hope that participants in this forum can direct me to the best information about resources for him. His VA benefits have not kicked in yet, and they will not be available for a few months. (I don't know how that works, and rather than pursuing it, I would like to know about what's available to him immediately.)

As an instructor, I am very limited in the assistance I can provide. But I want to do something to help see him on the best track as soon as possible. He has no money and little time.

If this question is outside my role, please forgive me. As an instructor, I see it like this. He made the choice to attend college, is giving up much in order to succeed, and has the smarts not just to succeed, but wholly to excel if he can be healthier.

Please email me directly.

K
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

The best thing you can do for him is point him to this website. It's the ole give a man a fish or teach him how to fish thing. Having said that, He can get medical care from the VA for free. As a returning combat veteran he has 2 years of free medical while he waits for his claims to be resolved. The VA has a tremendous wealth of mental health resources, which include Veterans Outreach Centers in numerous communities.

All he has to do is fill out a 10-10EZ on line and follow the instructions or print it out, and take it to any VAMC and present it along with a copy of his DD-214 at the reception desk and they'll start the process.
  3. Bertf

Bertf New Member