Crdp?

Discussion in 'Disability' started by sapman, May 29, 2008.

1. sapman

sapman New Member

Howdy Folks! This is my first post, so go easy...

I have been on the TDRL as of December, 2006. I just went through my reevaluation and was placed on the PDRL in May 2008. I have a 60% disability from the Army, and a 70% disability from the VA. Non of my disabilities os combat related. I served for 16 years 1 month.

Here's my question (and yes, I just saw the HUUUGE section under CRDP, so don't beat me up for not posting there... sorry)...
    Do I qualify for CRDP under the current laws? I am led to believe I do qualify because I have an Army disability rating of 50% or more and I am considered retired.

Please help clear this up.... I wrote to my congressman about this and he sent exerpts from the bills that I can't seem to follow.

Also, are there other programs that will allow me to file for compensation based on my disabilities? I'm new to this game and need help.

Thanks!
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

Simply put, the answer is no. The requirement is you must be retired .AND. have 20 years service in order to qualify for CRDP.

NDAA 2008 authorized CRSC, but not CRDP, for retiree's with less than 20 but your conditions must be combat related.
  3. bumblebee8472

bumblebee8472 New Member

but what about ch 61 medical retirees with less than 20 years
  4. Guarango

Guarango New Member

Crdp

Hi sapman
    Welcome here.

As TCM says, you need the 20years tenure for CRDP. However, I think that like CRSC the chapter 61's will be included in time once the legislation is suggested and passed. I believe it's a matter of time before it happens.
    What do you recon TCM.