Diabetic Feet

Discussion in 'Disability' started by Navyvet30, Oct 19, 2007.

1. Navyvet30

Navyvet30 New Member

I have painful Bunions , Fungal Nails and hammer toes ,none of which I had before Diabetes . I am a Vietnam Veteran exposed to Agent Orange . Are these problems considered for Disability ?
  2. Vike17

Vike17 New Member

Are you asking if "bunions, fungal nails and hammer toes" are in any way medically related to DMII? If so, this would be a question for your physician. He/she must make the "nexus" or connection in order for VA to award secondary service-connection for these conditions. Having said that, I'm not a doctor by any means, but I seriuosly doubt there is a relationship between these and DMII.

Vike 17
  3. CEDAR FALLS

CEDAR FALLS Member

Nail fungus is more common than you think in people with diabetes
    If you have diabetes, you are at higher risk for nail fungus, known
    medically as onychomycosis (on-ih-ko-my-KO-sis). In fact, people with diabetes are almost three times more likely to have nail fungus.

Certain conditions associated with diabetes make it more likely for you to get nail fungus. You may have poor blood circulation in your legs and feet. Diabetes also can lead to nerve damage in the lower extremities. If you have a sore, you may not notice it until it has developed into a more serious ulcer.
  4. CEDAR FALLS

CEDAR FALLS Member

VA CLAIMS SECONDARY TO DIABETES

CORONARY ARTERY DISEASE

In this chronic disease, atherosclerosis narrows the coronary arteries, the arteries supplying blood to the heart muscle. As the coronary arteries narrow, the chest pain called angina may be triggered. And the risk of a heart attack (myocardial infarction), which occurs when a coronary artery is blocked completely, is increased. Coronary artery disease currently affects 11 million people in the United States.

RIGHT UPPER EXTREMITY DIABETIC NEUROPATHY

LEFT UPPER EXTREMITY DIABETIC NEUROPATHY

RIGHT LOWER EXTREMITY DIABETIC NEUROPATHY