Early retirement and Disability

Discussion in 'Social Security' started by Rattruck, Nov 17, 2007.

1. Rattruck

Rattruck New Member

I am 59+. I am a 90% disabled vet who has a pending claim which should allow me to get to the 100% by schedule. I have difficulty with pain management. I am an accountant and my work performance is being affected either by pain or pain medications. I would like to work but only part-time.

My plan is to work 20-30 hours per week until I get to age 62, At that time I will apply for early retirement and at the same time apply for social security disability. I hope to be able to collect the early retirement payments (~75% of the full benefit) until the application process and appeal process (if necessary) is complete and I am awarded disability payments.

Is it allowable to collect early retirement and to then get social security disability?

P.S.:

I have sciatic nerve damage due to a service connected gun shot wound,
    * loss of use of left leg,
    * degenerative arthritis of both ankles, both knees, both hips, lumbar spine, thoracic spine, back and both shoulders
    * sciolosis of lumbar and thoracic spine
    * carpal tunnel syndrone - bilateral
    * Diabetes, type 2
    * Coronary artery disease - post triple bi-pass surgery (1999)
    * Hypertension
    * Sleep Apnea - BiPap machine
    * Peripheral neuropathy - left leg

Thanks,
    Bob T
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

BoB:

I don't make any claims to being a SS expert but being I'm approaching 65 in short order, I've been looking into my options. As I under stand it, drawing a private retirement should not affect your eligibility for SSDI. Even Bill Gates would be eligible if he were disabled. Federal disability retirement plans are affected by SSDI though and some private plans are as well. Make sure there are no offsets on that end.
  3. vnvetlester

vnvetlester Member

Ssdi