Heart Conditions Denied

Discussion in 'Diabetes' started by donewsome, May 7, 2007.

1. donewsome

donewsome New Member

Hello,

I am new, so I will throw this out there and hope it is in the correct place.

Background:

I am a 61 y/o vietnam vet. I served 2 tours in nam during my 1st and 2nd enlisted term.

I filed for the following conditions / problems on one inital claim:

Diabetes Mellitus Type II
    Diabetic Retinopathy
    Neuropathy
    Impotence
    Depression
    Skin Conditions
    Peripheral Vascular Disease
    Myocardial Infarction with Chronic Cogestive Heart Failure
    Coronary Artery Disease
    Cardiomyopathy
    Coronary Bypass Surgery
    Ventricular Tachycardia
    All Secondary To Diabetes Mellitus Type II

After originally being denied due to them not having the records from my local VA facility, I was given approval on some of the claim:

Diabetes Mellitus Type II 20%
    Severe Retinopathy 20%
    Neuropathy left lower extrimity 10%
    Neuropathy right lower extrimity 10%
    Impotence % (Entitlement to Special Mothly Comp due to loos of use of a creative organ)

For a total combined rating of 50% service connection.

The claim for the following was denied

Myocardial Infarction with Chronic Cogestive Heart Failure
    Coronary Artery Disease
    Cardiomyopathy
    Coronary Bypass Surgery
    Ventricular Tachycardia

The reasons given are "Upon VA examination, your heart condition was not found to be caused by your diabetes. Your VAMC Durham treatment records do not show evidence of a causal relationship between your diabetes and heart conditions".