Help requested - brain cancer (glioblastoma multiforme - Connection?

Discussion in 'Agent Orange' started by seadog76, Mar 7, 2006.

1. seadog76

seadog76 New Member

Hoping to process a post-mortem claim for Agent Orange related brain cancer, glioblastoma multiforme. Does anyone have any experience or advice with this?

Thanks

Paul F.
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

Paul:

I'm not a doctor but I can't see how "Brain Cancer" is a presumptive condition for AO exposure as defined by the VA unless it is one of the soft tissue sarcoma's that I don't know about See here: http://www.vba.va.gov/bln/21/benefits/herbicide/#bm05 or even here: http://www.onlinelawyersource.com/agent_orange/diseases.html
    for an expanded list of soft-tissue sarcoma. Am I missing something here? Do you have evidence that this veterans cancer is caused by AO despite NIH studies to the contrary?

Secondly, you say post-mortem. If the veteran has passed on he no longer has a claim for compensation. Are you thinking about a DIC claim?
  3. seadog76

seadog76 New Member

This is, I'll admit, a long shot inquiry. Hoping someone had new information. Yes, it's for a DIC claim, if possible. The widow is certain this is Agent Orange related, I said I would do some research, but it doesn't look good for a connection right now. Appreciate the web links. I'll check them out. Thank you.
  4. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

Hasn't been any new conditions added to the AO presumptive list in 4 years or so and FWIW most families and or veterans are convinced their condition is somehow someone else's fault. Just part of human nature and our inability to accept that sometimes stuff happens. Some folks get a longer ride on this life and others don't. It's not anyones fault.