Help W/disability

Discussion in 'Active Duty' started by MARKO, Jan 10, 2007.

1. MARKO

MARKO New Member

I’m an active duty soldier been in service for almost 10 years. I was deployed to Iraq and Kosovo before, and I don’t have anything but good words for all the service members deployed all over the world.
    While in basic training I suffered a knee injury, my knee cap came out of place I was treated back then with pain killers and ice. Over the years I had several issues on the same knee, although I tried to avoid the clinic mostly because I was trying to make rank Until recently I could not take it no more and had a knee surgery, I was diagnosed with osteo arthritis since it is so advanced I was told that there is not that much they can do for me that I will have to learn to live with the occasional pain and eventually I will need a knee replacement. I have a seven month post operation recovery time, after which I was told that most likely because of the degree of injury I have in the knee I will have to get med board.
    Over the years I have also developed a Plantar Fasciitis case due to the constant running and road marching, for the past several years I been having corticoid shots once in a while to control the pain. I tried everything even had a bone scan to see what is going on with my heels still the same and even got worse.
    I will have to decide within the next 3 months wethear to stay in with a permanent profile or get medical boarded as my physician is recommending me. Now if I get out is there anybody that knows what percentage I might be getting from VA? Has anybody out there got out of the service because of Knee osteo arthritis and Plantar Fasciitis? What percentage are they getting?. I have a family therefore I’m trying to see all my options
  2. Wolf

Wolf New Member