Is the VA required to notify vets they have been injured?

Discussion in 'Agent Orange' started by Tom130, Oct 5, 2008.

1. Tom130

Tom130 New Member

I was digging up evidence that I had acquired DMII before 2002 when it occurred to me that I was never notified by the VA that as a Vietnam Vet, I was entitled to file a claim for injuries because of exposure to Agent Orange. Back in 2005 I filed for a registry exam but was rejected because I made too much money. I found out about filing a claim by being informed by a friend, ie word of mouth. But to my knowledge, I nor anyone I know have ever redeived a letter or even saw a poster in a doctor's office about Agent Orange and Vietnam Vets.
    I have received notices from GM telling me of defects in my 20 year old car. Got letters and phone calls from drug manufacturers telling me that they found a problem with a medication. They don't do these things because they like me. They do them because that is what the law requires, old laws, been around for decades, called torts.
    Had I known about DMII and Agent Orange as a basis for filing a claim, I would have done a much better job in 2002 of saving lab data and doctor notes and statements. Now I've been informed by the VA that they need those old documents to prove my claim. Isn't there at least some shared responsibility on this? The VA knew long before 2002 that DMII was SC'd by AO. I think they should have at least sent a letter to Vietnam Vets so that we would be aware of this.
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

There is no obligation on the part of the VA to notify any of the 27 million living veterans they might be entitled to a benefit. It is up to every veteran to stay informed.

FWIW, every Vietnam veteran is entitled to an Agent Orange registry exam without regard to earnings. This does not necessarily entitle them to free health care at VHA expense unless they are somehow service connected or otherwise entitled.