Metastatic clear cell renal cell carcinoma

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by fsattl, May 24, 2008.

1. fsattl

fsattl New Member

I am a Viet Nam Veteran 1967-68. I am currently receiving a V.A. disability of 10% for injuries received in a jeep acciednt in Viet Nam.

I was recently diagnosed with metastatic clear cell renal cell carcinoma. I underwent a radical nephrectomy on 02/05/2008. I have completed two months of chemo (Sutent), and am now receiving a series of ten radiation treatments for a spinal lesion.

I am aware that renal cell carcenoma is not one of the presumptive cancers related to agent orange. I would appreciate any help in locating references, appeals or any information showing a connection between agent orange and renal cell carcinoma.
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

The National Institutes of Medicine has studied Renal Cancer in every biennial 'Veterans and Agent Orange Update:' since 1998 and have generally found:
    Inadequate or Insufficient Evidence to Determine Whether an Association Exists

This is what they say:
    The available studies are of insufficient quality, consistency, or statistical power to permit a conclusion regarding the presence or absence of an association. For example, studies fail to control for confounding, have inadequate exposure assessment, or fail to address latency. There is inadequate or insufficient evidence to determine whether an association exists between exposure to herbicides and the following health outcomes.

There's a long list including Renal Cancer.

I'm sure you can find a study showing anything you want but the problem is to find something peer reviewed and repeatable which is of sufficient quality, consistency, or statistical power to permit a conclusion regarding the presence or absence of an association.