Prostate Cancer Compensation

Discussion in 'Cancer' started by ricmanz, Jan 16, 2007.

1. ricmanz

ricmanz New Member

I'm new to this forum and seaching for some info concerning my PC claim.
    I am a Vietnam vet that was stationed Quan Tri. I'm awaiting my rating for prostate cancer surgery I had almost 3 years ago. I applied back in March of 2006 and had my C&P exam 8 weeks ago. I should be hearing something back soon but am courious of my rating. I understand ratings are based on residuals. In my case, I change protective pads 5 times per day due to leakage and have erectile dysfunction and of course the loss of the prostate. Anyone else that may be in the same situation and what the rating may be?
  2. TinCanMan

TinCanMan Active Member

Your PC is covered under 38CFR4.115a (voiding disfunction)

Requiring the use of an appliance or the wearing of absorbent materials which must be changed more than 4 times per day.... 60 %

You'll also get SMC-K for the ED at 0% but it pays an additional $89/mo.

Loss of Prostate gets you nothing.

PS: You only need to post in a single forum. It'll be seen no matter where it's at.
  3. rainvet

rainvet New Member

ricmanz, I'm also a Vietnam Combat Vet who is 100 % service connected for Ptsd. If you were in Vietnam you should be serviced for your illness from Agent Orange because that is on the list of the VA disorders. I was just at the VA doc office for my 3-month check up and He said I am consider a Diabete because my sugar levels keep go in and out of the scale.

Also he told me after my Visit and as I was leaving his office, that he was listing my enlarge postate to Agent Orange and as yesterday has made three appts due to that and to be tested because of it. I don't know why he said that and why he think it is caused from AO and I never though about it let alone would I have ever though to bring it up nor connected to AO. I have been turned down on alots of illness I believe was the caused by AO.